EPA members

The Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) has five members: a full-time Chairman, a part-time Deputy Chairman and three part-time members.

CHAIRMAN - Dr Tom Hatton

Chairman from 5 November 2015 to 4 November 2020; Member from 18 November 2014

Dr Hatton has a Bachelor of Science (summa cum laude) and Master of Science in Natural Resources from Humboldt State University, and a doctorate from the College of Natural Resources at Utah State University.

Following post-doctoral studies in mathematics at the University of New South Wales he joined the CSIRO as an environmental scientist, working on the many water-related challenges facing Australia. Over a 25-year career at the CSIRO, he directed the Water for a Healthy Country Flagship as well as the Wealth from Oceans Flagship, Australia’s largest water and marine research portfolios, delivering research directly underpinning the efficient and responsible development of Australia’s natural resources while ensuring the conservation of the environmental and social values. In 2014, Tom retired as CSIRO Group Executive for Energy, responsible for national facilities and capabilities in renewable and non-renewable energy, and mining research and development.

In 1999, Tom was awarded the inaugural WE Wood Award for scientific excellence in the field of salinity research, and the Utah State University Alumni Professional Achievement Award. In 2008, Tom received the CSIRO Chairman’s Medal and the Australian Public Service Medal for his contributions to the management of Australia’s water resources.

Dr Hatton chaired the Western Australian Marine Parks and Reserves Authority (2012-2015) and chaired the 2011 Australian State of the Environment Committee. He is an adjunct professor at the University of Western Australia and serves on their Oceans Institute Advisory Board, as well as the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research Board. He serves on the Board of the Western Australia Parks Foundation.

Dr Hatton was recently inducted as a fellow of the prestigious Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering – an independent body of eminent scientists and engineers – for his contributions to the development of technologies and their application to natural resource management and his outstanding leadership in the development of water, marine and energy technologies.

Mr Robert Harvey

Deputy Chairman 18 November 2012 to 17 November 2020

Mr Robert Harvey has degrees in engineering and a Masters in Business Administration from The University of Western Australia (UWA).

Mr Harvey began his career as an engineer in the then Water Authority, specialising in resource management, planning and policy. His last position in the Authority was as Director Water Resources Planning. He was Executive Director of the Department of Justice from 1999 to 2003. In the Department he was responsible for community corrections, juvenile justice and correctional policy.

From 2003 to 2009 Mr Harvey was Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Business and Law at Edith Cowan University. He was a member of the Water Corporation Board from 2007 to 2012. On behalf of the Board of the Water Corporation, he convened a scientific panel to review the State’s 50 year water plan – Water Forever.

He is the Regional Director for the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust.

In 2010 Mr Harvey was appointed as a member of the Western Australian Planning Commission.

Prof. Fiona Haslam McKenzie

Member from 11 October 2019 until 10 October 2024

Prof. Fiona Haslam McKenzie is co-director and senior principal research fellow at The University of Western Australia’s Centre for Regional Development. Her current work examines the socio-economic impact of the Australian staple economies, particularly the resources sector, while her international work is focused on mining activities in Canada, Chile and South Africa and through a Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade teaching program across nine African nations.

She has a diverse academic background, including a PhD in Political Geography from The University of Western Australia (UWA), as well as a Bachelor of Commerce, Bachelor of Arts and Masters of Philosophy from UWA. She has served on several government and private sector boards, including as chief investigator leading the Regional Economies – Enduring Community Value from Mining division of the Remote Economic Participation Co-operative Research Centre and as Director for the Housing and Urban Research Institute Western Australia.

Prof. Haslam McKenzie has extensive experience in population and socio-economic change, mining and the oil and gas industries, housing, regional economic development and the analysis of remote, regional and urban socio-economic indicators.

Mr Glen McLeod

Member from 23 October 2013 until 20 October 2021

Glen is an environmental and town planning lawyer with over 39 years of experience. He has held senior positions in major Australian, English and American law firms. In July 2012 he established his independent niche firm, Glen McLeod Legal where he practices in the areas of environmental and town planning law.

He is a member of the WA Environmental Protection Authority and the Waste Authority, the Chair of the International Bar Association’s Environmental, Health and Safety Committee and a member of the WA Law Society’s Environment Town Planning and Local Government Committee.

He is an Adjunct Professor at Murdoch University where he teaches units in environmental and town planning law. He is a member of the Advisory Group to the Murdoch Dean of Law and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He was recently the recipient of the 2016 WA Law Society’s Lawyer of the Year Award.

Glen is the General Editor of the national loose leaf publication Planning Law in Australia and an editor of the Local Government Law Journal.

Dr Jenny Pope

Member from 5 November 2018 until 4 November 2023

Dr Jenny Pope has over 30 years’ experience in the fields of environmental management and sustainability, in Western Australia and internationally. Dr Pope commenced her career as an environmental process engineer in the water and the oil and gas industries, before establishing a consultancy business in Perth which she has operated for 20 years. Dr Pope currently holds a number of active academic positions; she is part-time Senior Lecturer in Environmental Management and Sustainability at Edith Cowan University; Extra-ordinary Associate Professor in Environmental Management at North-West University in South Africa; and Fellow of the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership in the UK.

Dr Pope holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical) with first class honours; a Graduate Diploma in Science (Biotechnology); a Post-Graduate Certificate in Policy Studies (Ecologically Sustainable Development); and a PhD in Sustainability and Technology Policy. She is both a practitioner and an internationally-recognised scholar of impact assessment, with a focus on sustainability assessment and social impact assessment. She is an active member of the International Association for Impact Assessment and the Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand.